Scratchy Uniqlo cashmere

ImageI paid $39.90 for a Uniqlo cashmere turtleneck before Christmas and was pleased with it until I actually wore it.  I don’t have any allergies, I’m totally okay with wool but man did this make my neck burn, itch and come up in red welts, yikes.  It was so bad I had to take it off and use some hydrocortisone cream for the next few days.  It’s been languishing in my closet since then, I thought I’d try it again today – perhaps it was a one-off? 

As soon as it hit my neck I felt the scratch, tried to leave alone and lasted until precisely 9:03am before shoving a piece of paper towel in between the neck and me!  The neck doesn’t feel any different to the rest of the sweater and I am absolutely fine with it on my trunk and arms, just front neck is no go.  As long as the paper towel stays in place we’re all good.  I’ll stick to V-necks if I buy cashmere from Uniqlo again.

Actually, I haven’t worn a turtleneck in years really, they used to be my staple.  I was totally put off them by Trinny & Susannah (remember them?!) – they said if you have a large bust you should never ever ever ever wear one as it draws attention to it.  I cried, sort of agreed, and charity-bagged my massive collection and stayed away.  Until now.  I reckon it looks okay-ish, perhaps I can get away with it in black a bit more?  

Sweater:  Uniqlo cashmere turtleneck (not for sale on website anymore?)

Skirt:  Boden Starburst hem skirt – clearance

Tights:  Target, Merona sweater tights

Boots:  Eddie Bauer, old

Leave a Comment

