Do you sew?

I’ve started taking better care of my clothes since “the great closet clean out” – picking them up off the floor, sewing buttons that are dangling by a thread, actually reading the care labels and following them to the letter. I have even learned to darn and darned a few woollens – didn’t know I had it in me! I hope things I love now will last me longer this way.

But, I also have a pile of clothes that I don’t particularly love, things I would wear if only the hem were shorter, or if I could just take it in a smidge here or there… same for my kids clothes. I have been wondering about getting a cheap sewing machine and doing these repairs and minor alterations myself but I don’t know where to begin and the information online is overwhelming for a complete beginner.

Do you sew? Will I regret a cheap plasticy machine from somewhere like Walmart? Or is it wiser to keep it cheap and upgrade later if I enjoy and stick with sewing?

This is giving me an incentive to clear my office clutter out and make some space… hope to crack on with it today.

5 thoughts on “Do you sew?

  1. I would suggest a midrange machine, like a Kenmore from Sears. I’ve had mine for years, and it has served me very well. You might find yourself getting hooked on sewing, and then regret buying a super cheap machine. It is nice being able to take things in, or shorten them, etc.

  2. Thanks, will do, hadn’t thought to look in Sears. Still totally confused about what I need but hopefully someone there will help, more chance there than in WalMart! Can’t wait to get started… my husband thinks this will be a big white elephant waste of money so I’m doubly determined to give it a go đŸ™‚

  3. Looks good, thanks! I wanted to compare US prices but it looks like Sears USA don’t sell Kenmore machines anymore, weird. Do you think getting parts and accessories will be a problem if I buy from Canada, or does it come with everything a beginner could possibly need?

    • It comes with everything you need. Most sewing machine supply stores should carry any additional presser feet (most are universal) and parts. I have had mine for over 10 years, and I’ve never had to have it repaired:)

Leave a Comment

